Magritte at Tate Liverpool

Magritte, The Pleasure Principle

Yesterday I visited the René Magritte exhibition at Tate Liverpool.  This was a family outing rather than a visit planned to fit in my with OCA studies but nevertheless I spend a good couple of hours looking intently and thinking about the pictures.  During the long drive back home today it suddenly struck me that I should write it up in my learning log.  As I thought about it I realised that I now look at art in a deeper more meaningful way, searching out meaning, connections and intentions.  I knew little about Magritte before I walked into the show but, as I was walking around and hearing other visitors commenting on some of the paintings, I found myself consciously disagreeing with some of them and coming up with my own interpretation of the artist’s message and intent.  When I eventually read some of the programme notes, I found to my surprise that my interpretation was often, but not always, in line with that of the exhibition curator.  I was pleased.  I can see that I’ve moved forward and gained both an independence of mind and a deeper connection to art.  I also found myself making connections to my photographic studies, the denoted versus the connoted for example.  For example,  I could relate quite strongly to Magritte’s studies of the real versus the the represented.  Similarly, I could relate to his portrayal of self – although this is not something I have ever seriously tried myself. But it is something that I should do and perhaps soon.

All in all, a much deeper and more meaningful experience than I anticipated – and that can only be a good sign!

Leave a Reply

